RSS

1982 Corvette Snap-Tite Kit – Part 1

23 Jan

Wish me luck! A few months ago now, I joined up on the Model Cars Mag forum, where people with talent I will NEVER have, show their work and inspire others to do their best. I like to think I’m doing a good job with my kits, but it can be both heart-breaking and inspiring to see what others can do during their builds.

My most recent build, the 1970 Mustang Boss 429 was my most adventurous kit thus far. I opened the doors, wired up the engine and polished the paint. And I thought I was being clever! But after reviewing some work on the forum, I’ve decided to go all out with this build. And since it’s new ground for me, I thought I’d share my progress in more depth this time around.

So here’s the kit:

1982 Corvette Snap-Tite Kit - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

I got the kit from my mate Jim, and he only charged $10 plus delivery. This kit in Australia would retail for over $40. So considering this kit was so cheap, I figured I’d pull out all the stops and see what I can do.

The downside is that it’s a snap-tite kit. That usually means the kit is basic – and this one surely is. It also means that the pieces SHOULD be well tooled and fit together well. And this kit surely ISN’T. But that all adds to the “fun” of the build, right?. Taking an old kit that’s not perfect and turning it into something you’re proud of? Let’s hope that happens here.

So here’s my plan for this baby – and I reserve the right to change this plan so many times during the build, that I end up back at the original plan!

»  Wire up the engine – just like the Mustang Boss;
»  Replace the “grille” sections on both sides of the license plate, with wire mesh;
»  Try to make the headlights “pop-up”;
»  Add some funky pin striping;
»  Lower it and give it larger rims; and………
»  Give it working gullwing doors!

The kit had been sitting on my bench for a while, while I tried to work out what to do with it. so far, I’ve cut out the headlights and done some major work on the body. Mould lines, flash and injection pin marks were EVERYWHERE. I spent about two hours cleaning it up and then sprayed it with primer to see how it all went. Sadly, it still needs more sanding before it’s good enough. And this is how it turned out:

1982 Corvette Snap-Tite Kit via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Headlights cut out, body primed

Sadly, the body need more work. There’s still some fine marks from when I sanded (I need to go another step finer), and in preparation for the gullwing doors, I’ll need to strip back the primer and putty up the T-panel parting line. At this stage, I still don’t know how to do the lights. I’ve tried a handful of methods to get them to pivot up, but nothing works. Any ideas? Let me know.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Cars, Monogram

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
