RSS

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI – Part 1

26 Feb

I have a bit of thing for Lancers. It could be because my Father used to work at the Mitsubishi plant in Adelaide, South Australia which allowed me to personally visit the production line and to get an amazing insight into the way Mitsubishi build cars and how they think. Maybe it’s because my Brother used to work on the line installing brakes. Maybe it’s because a friend of mine actually has an EVO VI. Who knows.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

I tend to stay away from Japanese kit manufacturers, because here in Australia they START at about $60, but having built this kit, I fully intend to buy MORE kits by Tamiya, Fujimi and Aoshima since, along with the Lancer Evo X, I find the kits are exceptionally well put together and produce an outstanding finished product.

In fact, this kit went together so well, I’ve almost finished it already! Luckily, I did take some photos along the way to show some of the detail of this kit which contributes to such an amazing end product. What I’d like to mention is the effort Tamiya have gone to in the production of this kit. I’ve almost completed all the construction, and so far I’ve had to remove TWO pieces of flash. Just two. When I built the General Lee, I spent two HOURS cleaning up the body alone!

And everything in this kit fits together so well. There’s shaped locator pins everywhere – like the keyhole-shaped locator in the interior for fitting a small piece. Those Tamiya boys really know how to make a model. The most interesting thing about this kit is that there’s no interior tub, like you’d expect to find. All of the pieces attach directly to the chassis which is also the interior floor.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Front Shocks

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Front Brakes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really enjoyed the detail of the shocks in this kit. Usually, you don’t get such pronounced springs, so I took the opportunity to colour the springs properly. I also really like the detail in the brake disks. Sadly, you don’t really get to see it all once the wheels are on though.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Wheel structure

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Under the Front

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another strange thing about this kit is that Tamiya want the chassis to be white. Most parts are modelled in white, so I left them as they were, rather than paint them TS-26 (Pure White). Mainly, since those cans in Australia cost $14.99 each!

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Seats

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Seats Rear

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The seats are another great display of the detail that has gone into this kit. Each seat is a single piece (separate piece for the red support), but there’s SIX decals per seat! I’ve only got five, since my Micro Sol destroyed one, meaning I had to leave the same decal off each seat <insert sad face here>

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Dashboard

You can also see in the photo above and the one at left, that there’s some pretty awesome detail in the dashboard. Thanks to some ref pics, and my trusty toothpicks, I was able to paint in the coloured knobs on the dash just the way Tamiya wanted them.

On this build, I have actually been able to keep almost 100% to the colour scheme suggested by the manufacturer. Even the build itself is almost 100% OOB, except for some of the undercarriage which you’ll see in the next post on this kit.

 

And there’s one more exciting thing I wanted to say about this kit – and that’s all the decals. It’s one of the reasons that convinced me to buy the kit, since most cars I build have MAYBE a dozen decals if that. This one will have about 60 by the time I’m done. They’re all provided in the kit, along with some “alternates” in case you want to build “car 2” of the team. But I’m a big fan of Tommi Makinen, so for me, it was an easy decision.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

Interior

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 26, 2013 in Aoshima, Cars, Fujimi, Tamiya

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI – Part 1

  1. ccmty88

    February 27, 2013 at 5:32 am

    Reblogged this on ty.nguyen and commented:
    My dream car when I was a kid.

     

Leave a Reply

 
