RSS

1970 Buick GSX Pimp Mobile – Part 1

03 Mar

Yo, what up G? Fo shizzle my nizzle, this here pimpin’ Buick ride is off da hook, yo!
LOL, sorry about that, but I’ve been getting a bit carried away with this build. Believe it or not, I bought this kit as a donor for my Corvette with gullwing doors. I planned to make pop-up headlights for the ‘bette, so I needed small diameter lenses, which the Buick has. The problem is, the headlights on the ‘vette failed, mainly because I lost two of the lenses. So at the end of this build, the lights on the Buick are gonna be a bit funky.
1970 Buick GSX Pimp Mobile - Part 1 via scalemodelworld www.scalemodelworld.wordpress.com

So when I was looking for my next (current) build, I saw the Buick and thought it might be fun. I had no idea just what an amazing car this was in it’s time, so despite having bought it as a donor, I’m kind of glad I ended up with it. But this is NOT going to be a standard build. Could you tell from the post title?

This car is gonna be Pimpin’. It all started with me wanting to expand on my pin striping skills – another thing I tried on the 82 Corvette. I came up with a shiznit design for the hood, and then made a complimentary design for the trunk. I just hope I’m going to be able to pull it off.

The plan for this baby is something special. I’m opening the doors and trunk, using metal hinges I bought from Detail Master. The car itself will be Tamiya TS-24 (Purple) with Gold pin striping and highlights – inside and out. There’ll be purple shag carpeting throughout (including the trunk) and the usual engine wiring. I was going to lower it a bit, but it sits quite low OOB, so I’ll save myself the heartache.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2013 in Cars, Monogram, Tamiya

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
